Why I’m an optimistic pessimist:6 Reasons to be Cheerful Right Now

julia hobsbawm
6 min readAug 1, 2020
Why I’m a pessimistic optimist even today.

In this time of trouble, fifty years after the Beatles wrote “Let It Be” I’m inspired by the six-legged honeybee, living in its six-sided hexagonal hive. I believe that we can learn and perhaps live better taking lessons from one of mother nature’s most important creatures, as I have written about here in Graydon Carter’s Air Mail.

The six-legged bee which lives (and works) in its six-sided hexagonal hive inspired me to develop my Hexagon Action management model and to present things in sixes, and the humble honeybee and the number six are what I based my new book The Simplicity Principle on.

I’m an optimistic pessimist. The precarious moment the world finds itself in, locked deep in the jaws of, respectively, Covid19, the climate crisis and political instability and rife injustice doesn’t mean we can’t find meaning, comfort, or reasons to look forward.

Why? Because we’re human. Humans are extraordinary. We can and will adapt and we can and will adjust. Here are 6 things for the Summer to not despair over.

1. The Future of Work: Now We’re Talking

One of the most fascinating dilemmas and divisions thrown up by Covid19 is the future of work, and specifically the workplace.
Governments want to preserve national economies and the ecosystems of transport and retail around city…

--

--

julia hobsbawm

Writes and talks about the future of work, and achieving Social Health in organisations. Author of The Nowhere Office (also the podcast) www.juliahobsbawm.com